Copycats

In an attempt to copy the iconic September 1932 picture of construction workers having their lunch break, perched on a beam 69 floors above Manhattan, the guys from Maintenance posed happily on top of the Blue House scaffolding a sunny day in July 2014. Whereas the New York picture was a potentially fatal publicity stunt from Rockefeller Center, the three meter high coffee break rest posed no particular risk to the Kings Bay workers.

Blue House, designed by architect Jens P. Flor, was built in 1919. From the start up until 1965 it was used as headquarters for the Kings Bay Kul Company. Today, it houses the German-French research station AWIPEV. Blue House is now undergoing a much needed roofing repair and replacement.

All photos: Anne Merete Bekkevahr